When can a batter be called out for a third strike?

Study for the NFHS Baseball Rules Exam. Use flashcards and multiple choice questions with detailed explanations for each. Boost your knowledge and be prepared for your exam!

A batter can be called out for a third strike when the pitch is caught by the catcher before it touches the ground, meaning the catcher catches the ball directly from the pitch. This scenario is particularly relevant in the context of a strikeout, as it applies when there are no runners on base or when first base is occupied with less than two outs. In this case, the ball is not only pitched within the strike zone but is also caught cleanly by the catcher, which results in the batter being out.

In distinctions regarding the other scenarios, if the pitch is hit foul, it does not constitute a third strike against the batter, as foul tips can only count against a batter if it’s the third strike and certain conditions are met (like either having fewer than two strikes or a runner on base). The catcher being positioned too far back does not have any bearing on whether a third strike is called, as it doesn't influence the legitimacy of the pitch itself. Lastly, if the batter completely misses the swing, it results in a strike, but the call for a third strike wouldn’t occur unless the pitch is also caught in accordance with the rules.

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy