What should happen when B2 takes a practice swing that contacts the catcher's glove?

Study for the NFHS Baseball Rules Exam. Use flashcards and multiple choice questions with detailed explanations for each. Boost your knowledge and be prepared for your exam!

When a player takes a practice swing and makes contact with the catcher's glove, the proper protocol according to NFHS baseball rules is for the home plate umpire to declare time. This ensures that the situation is addressed immediately without disrupting the flow of the game. Declaring time allows the players to reset and return to their respective positions before the next pitch occurs. The action of contacting the catcher's glove during a practice swing is considered interference, thus making it necessary for the umpire to step in.

Additionally, resetting all players in their positions is important as it maintains the integrity of the game. Each player needs to be aware of their roles, and resetting ensures everyone is prepared for the next pitch in a structured manner. Therefore, the steps taken by the umpire—declaring time and allowing players to reset—align with the appropriate handling of such situations in baseball, supporting the conclusion that both actions (declaring time and resetting positions) should occur simultaneously.

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy