What occurs when R2 steals third base and B3's follow-through hits F2 while attempting a throw?

Study for the NFHS Baseball Rules Exam. Use flashcards and multiple choice questions with detailed explanations for each. Boost your knowledge and be prepared for your exam!

In this scenario, when R2 steals third base and B3’s follow-through hits F2 (the catcher) while attempting to make a throw, the situation involves the concept of follow-through interference. According to NFHS rules, a batter or runner is not allowed to interfere with a fielder attempting to make a play, and interference can occur based on actions such as the batter's follow-through.

When B3's follow-through strikes F2, who is in the act of making a play, this constitutes interference on the part of the batter. In this case, as a result of the interference, B3 is called out. Additionally, R2 is returned to second base because the action of interference prevented F2 from making a legitimate play on the advancing runner.

This explanation underlines the interpretation of interference rules in baseball, particularly concerning a batter's actions affecting defensive players on the field. By understanding this rule, players and coaches can better navigate situations where the actions of one player may impact the outcome of plays due to interference.

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy