What action is taken when a runner is tagged while attempting to advance to the next base?

Study for the NFHS Baseball Rules Exam. Use flashcards and multiple choice questions with detailed explanations for each. Boost your knowledge and be prepared for your exam!

When a runner is tagged while attempting to advance to the next base, the correct action taken is to call the runner out. This is in accordance with baseball rules that govern base running and tagging. When a defensive player touches a runner with the ball while the runner is not safely on a base, that action results in the runner being declared out.

This principle is rooted in the fundamental rules of baseball, where the defense is tasked with preventing the offense from advancing successfully. The tag must occur while the runner is attempting to advance and is not touching a base, which clearly establishes that the runner has been effectively put out of play.

The other options do not apply in this scenario, as they either misrepresent the outcome of the tagging action or refer to situations that are not pertinent to the scenario described. The rules explicitly state that a runner tagged in this manner is out, solidifying this as a foundational concept in understanding baseball's base running rules.

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy