In NFHS baseball, what is the ruling if a pitcher delivers a pitch with a foot outside the pitcher's plate?

Study for the NFHS Baseball Rules Exam. Use flashcards and multiple choice questions with detailed explanations for each. Boost your knowledge and be prepared for your exam!

The correct response is based on the understanding that a pitcher must have both feet touching or within the pitcher's plate when delivering a pitch. However, if the pitcher has one foot outside of the pitcher's plate but the other foot is on or within the plate, the pitch is still considered legal. The key rule here is that as long as any part of the pitcher's foot is on the plate during the delivery, the pitch can be executed without being deemed illegal.

In this specific scenario, the rules emphasize that having one foot outside does not automatically render the pitch illegal, as long as the other foot maintains contact within the designated area. Therefore, it validates the pitch as lawful, allowing the game to continue without interruption.

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy