If a third-base coach interferes with a runner legally touching base, what happens next?

Study for the NFHS Baseball Rules Exam. Use flashcards and multiple choice questions with detailed explanations for each. Boost your knowledge and be prepared for your exam!

The correct outcome when a third-base coach interferes with a runner who is legally touching base is that the runner is considered out, while the ball remains in play for other runners. This principle is based on the understanding that the runner has the right to touch the base without obstruction. If the coach's actions prevent the runner from completing this action, it results in the runner being called out for interference.

However, because the ball remains live for other runners, any plays that develop afterward can still be executed by other players on the field, allowing the game to continue without a complete stoppage. This rule is designed to maintain the flow of the game while ensuring that the runner's right to advance is protected.

This understanding reflects how player and coach interactions are regulated in the NFHS rules, distinguishing between coach actions that result in an immediate dead ball versus those that allow play to continue.

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy