If a pitcher makes a motion to throw and stops before pitching, what can the umpire call?

Study for the NFHS Baseball Rules Exam. Use flashcards and multiple choice questions with detailed explanations for each. Boost your knowledge and be prepared for your exam!

When a pitcher makes a motion to deliver a pitch and then stops, it is important to recognize the intent of the action according to NFHS baseball rules. The correct interpretation in this scenario is that the umpire can call a ball if the pitcher stops his motion while in the process of delivering the pitch. This allows the batter to have the option of adjusting to the situation, as the action of stopping creates an unfair advantage.

The rules specify that a pitcher cannot simply stop their delivery without consequence. While some may argue otherwise, the ruling that allows for a ball to be called ensures adherence to proper pitching etiquette and maintains the flow of the game. It is crucial to encourage the pitcher to follow through with his delivery after initiating the motion, promoting good sportsmanship and orderly play.

Other options do not apply because if there are no runners on base, a balk would not be relevant, and there are repercussions if the pitch is not delivered. In this case, since the delivery was started but not completed, the recognition of that in the form of a ball being called is the appropriate action.

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy