How is a fielder considered to have caught a ball in flight?

Study for the NFHS Baseball Rules Exam. Use flashcards and multiple choice questions with detailed explanations for each. Boost your knowledge and be prepared for your exam!

A fielder is considered to have caught a ball in flight when they gain secure possession of the ball while it is within the boundaries of play. This is accurately represented by the scenario of a fielder securing possession in foul ground and stepping into his dugout. In this case, the player legally caught the ball before it hit the ground, and a catch can still be considered valid if the fielder is in foul territory at the time of the catch.

The other scenarios presented do not meet the requirements for a catch. For instance, securing the ball in a cap does not demonstrate proper control or ownership of the ball, as the intent of the rules is to require use of the glove or hand. Moreover, merely having the ball in the glove for two steps before dropping it does not qualify as a legal catch; the ball must remain secure and not drop at all. Lastly, if the ball touches the ground after caroming off a runner, it has not been caught, failing to fulfill the complete criteria for a legal catch under NFHS rules.

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy